Life After Baby Books

Since I first became a preconceptionist about 6 months ago, I had an insatiable thirst for information. What to Expect Before You’re Expecting, Taking Charge of Your Fertility, The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth, a variety of baby name books and prenatal fitness guides—I’ve read ’em all. After successfully driving myself crazy with the details, I’ve landed in a puddle of exhausted satisfaction staring straight into the face of impending reality. How am I going to actually pull off this baby thing?

No matter how well-prepared I start my week, I’m always exhausted by Tuesday evening. Nevermind that I spend Saturdays scrubbing, sweeping, and weeding. The yard is overgrown and the house is a condemned disaster area before you can say Wednesday. I’m moody as hell—especially during the progesterone-dominant second half of my menstrual cycle. Did I mention that progesterone is THE pregnancy hormone for 9 – 10 months? I have an allergy attack about once per week during pollen season and require a minimal, yet oh-so-critical dose of antidepressants to be a functional human being.

That’s not to minimize the progress I’ve made toward becoming a candidate for motherhood. Since January, I’ve been going to the gym before work five days per week. I weaned myself off of Claritin-D. I only drink one cup of coffee each day. As for my red wine consumption…well, let’s save that for another day. Because today I need that glass of red wine to cope with the stress of my 9 to 5 job and my messy house.

Next on my preconceptionist agenda: schedule a physical/Pap smear and visit a dentist. It’s been 6 years since I’ve had a Pap. I’m going on 1 year, 2 months since my last dental checkup because, really, who has the time?

About The Preconceptionist

Where personal experience meets clinical and cultural preconceptions about birth and women's health.
This entry was posted in Preconception, Resources and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life After Baby Books

  1. missedconceptions says:

    Welcome to … (pre) babyland?

    I have come to hate “The Thinking Woman’s Guide…” HATE it. I read it before I was pregnant, while I was pregnant and after I was pregnant and got increasingly annoyed with the tone.

    Ditto for “The Girlfriend’s Guide” but in a much less dramatic way. Actually, I found that book more helpful than most of the baby-growing tomes.

    • Most pregnancy books just don’t resonate with me. I’m not sure what I’m looking for, but I haven’t found it. The only one that’s really helpful at this stage in my journey is “Taking Charge of Your Fertility.” The rest were either boring or oversimplified.

  2. A says:

    I just started trying to cut out caffeine, and holy hell is it difficult when you start work at 6 am. I’ve been subbing frothy caffeine-free tea latte beverage for frothy espresso beverage, because I guess have something warm and “handcrafted” in the morning is half the battle. Although, this isn’t doing anything to cut back on my coffee budget.

    • 6am? Ouch. Good luck with that. Sometimes I heat up vanilla almond milk in the microwave and then steep a Yogi Tea chai tea bag in it. It almost tastes like a Starbucks chai latte. It has caffeine, but not as much as coffee.

      • A says:

        I mostly drank chai, anyway, so the lack of caffeine isn’t so bad for me. I don’t think I can ever give up Starbucks, though. There is one right next door to my store and we have he nicest baristas and I love them.

Leave a Reply

