Getting My Needs in Order

I haven’t researched depression as it relates to the preconception phase yet, and I don’t feel like writing about my mishap adventures in navigating the health care system. For now, I’m busy recovering and beginning to feel much better. Yesterday, I perused a used book store and treated myself to a few choice items at a local consignment shop. I spent the afternoon immersed in nature at the US Botanic Garden. It was absolutely gorgeous, but I have to admit, it was no beach, mountain, or wooded trail. The exotic plants and canopy walk did the trick, but there was no denying that everything was pruned, trained, and confined. I think I need a day at the beach.

An afternoon of nature immersion at the US Botanic Garden.

As part of my recovery, I’m learning to ask for what I need and want. I know that involves directly expressing my needs to my husband, my coworkers, my family, etc. But it can’t hurt to tell the blogosphere what I want, too. So, here it goes:

    1. I want to stop doing more than my fair share of work at home and at the office.
    2. I want to create a family budget that allows for comfortable spending and reasonable savings and investment goals.
    3. I want to get pregnant by Christmas.
    4. I want to be a stay-at-home mom/writer with a nanny who watches my kids while I write.

Goals 1, 2, and 3 seem doable. The jury is still out on goal 4. Is that too much to ask for?

About The Preconceptionist

Where personal experience meets clinical and cultural preconceptions about birth and women's health.
This entry was posted in Depression, Lifestyle Adjustments, Preconception and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

