20 Ways to Say No

Stop me before I volunteer again.

Part of my recovery from depression is learning to say no. This week my therapist sent me home with an assignment–make a list of 20 ways to say no. What does this have to do with a preconception blog? In addition to preparing your body to conceive, it’s important to create space in your life for a baby. Do you expect to shove an extra human between a full-time job, housework, socializing, and whatever else you’ve managed to pour into your schedule? I didn’t think so.

Say it with me now…

  1. No.
  2. I don’t have time to do that.
  3. I have a prior commitment.
  4. I have to wash my hair tonight.
  5. Thanks, but no thanks.
  6. My schedule is already full.
  7. I don’t have the energy for that right now.
  8. My fertile phase is coming up, so I’ll be busy trying for a baby.
  9. I’m not the best person for that job.
  10. My family needs me.
  11. I’m overextended at the moment.
  12. That’s not part of my recovery plan.
  13. I need some me time.
  14. Why don’t you ask Billy Bob to do that instead?
  15. Now’s not a good time.
  16. I’m not feeling up to it.
  17. I don’t think that’s a good idea.
  18. I can’t help.
  19. Absolutely not.
  20. No way.

What’s your favorite way to say no?

About The Preconceptionist

Where personal experience meets clinical and cultural preconceptions about birth and women's health.
This entry was posted in Depression, Lifestyle Adjustments, Preconception and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 20 Ways to Say No

  1. I have a standing yoga class on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so most people know not to ask me to do things on those evenings. Actually, I tend to avoid doing anything during the week! I cook a lot, which might not seem like the most compelling reason, but when I explain that we’ve got a whole ton of CSA veggies to deal with before the next batch arrives, they understand. On the weekends, I usually just say that we need time to do things around the house, which is true. I don’t apologize for it, either. Congratulations on learning to say “no”–it’s an invaluable skill!

  2. Pingback: 30 Reasons Why 30 Rocks « The Preconceptionist

Leave a Reply

