TTC Affirmation: Fertility is in My Favor

As I near the end of my two week wait, I’m beginning to realize how swept up I’ve become by the fear and anxiety surrounding pregnancy and birth. From the start, I’ve known to avoid negative messages that produce needless worry during pregnancy, but I never realized how much that also applies to trying to conceive.

The biggest worry I’ve been trapped in is the possibility of not being able to conceive. Infertility is real and wreaks havoc on the lives of millions of women and their partners. But in my first cycle of trying to conceive, my mind has no business playing with that possibility. So, to help myself stay positive and to inspire my other ttc and soon-to-be ttc friends, here is a list of encouraging messages about fertility:

The risk of infertility is real, but fertility statistics are on my side.

About The Preconceptionist

Where personal experience meets clinical and cultural preconceptions about birth and women's health.
This entry was posted in Conception, two week wait and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TTC Affirmation: Fertility is in My Favor

  1. A says:

    Are you in my brain? Thanks for posting this. I’ve been trying to get the possible-infertility monkey off my back, too. I think though that once you’re aware of the problem that so many women do face, coupled with how very very much we want this, it’s so hard not to start envisioning every worse-case scenario.

    I think especially for us, women who have been dying to even get to the point where we can START trying, and have been filling that wait with every possible bit of fertility and reproduction information that we can get our hands on, it’s hard for us to go into this with an expectant and happy-go-lucky attitude. We need to remind each other to take a deep breath and remember that this is just the beginning, and not just another leg of an already incredibly long journey.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about your two-week-wait while I’m treading water until I ovulate. My e-fingers are crossed. Or my fingers are e-crossed. Or something. You are my first bloggity friend so I am very impatient for good news!

    • I read this comment last night before I went to bed. I’m so glad we’re bloggity friends. When I first found your blog I thought, “OMG! There’s someone else like me in the blogosphere!” It’s hard to find your place in the blogosphere when you’re obsessed with babies, but not trying for them yet. It’s fun to have someone else to share the journey with.

  2. Pingback: How I Got My BFP (aka big fat positive) « The Preconceptionist

  3. angeci13 says:

    What a wonderful way to inspire! I’m so glad I found this post. Keep the positive coming :-)!

  4. Sharon says:

    OMG – All I can say is bless you. I’ve seriously come to think I’m going nuts. It is such a relief to know that truly my brain is normal. I love this article – it’s a nice clear view – so at least if I don’t get my BFP this month, it gives me a lot of hope!!

  5. Kristin says:

    I’m only just finding this in 2017. I am 1 week into my 2 week waiting period too and it’s maddening. I’m obsessing over any little something I may be feeling or not feeling. I don’t know if you maintain this blog or lot, but thank you for writing about your journey. It’s been validating to see my experiences reflected in your thoughtful and humorous posts.

Leave a Reply

