How I Got My BFP (aka big fat positive)

My TTC affirmation must have worked. Turns out, I’m a fertile Myrtle!
I’m pregnant!

For my fellow obsessive ladies out there, I tested at 4am on cycle day 25 and what I think is 13 days past ovulation (DPO). My symptoms are mild waves of nausea, breast tenderness, fatigue, heartburn, frequent urination (why else would I be up at 4am?), some heart palpitations, and consitpation. All of these symptoms have been on and off for the past week, but so mild that I couldn’t be sure it wasn’t all in my head. By the way, should mild constipation strike you in the early days of pregnancy, 2 large glasses of water followed by a fresh apple works wonders.

I’m obviously overjoyed. The second line appeared pretty quickly. I stared. I jumped up and down and smiled at myself in the mirror. I spent a few seconds sitting on the floor holding my head in my hands. Then I went back to bed with my heart racing and haven’t slept since.
 
Next on the agenda is to tell M (the hubby). I’m going to dress one of our Bichons in a baby Chief’s outfit—M’s hometown team—and attach the BFP (big fat positive) to his collar. What a wake up call that will be! 
About The Preconceptionist

Where personal experience meets clinical and cultural preconceptions about birth and women's health.
This entry was posted in Conception, First Trimester, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How I Got My BFP (aka big fat positive)

  1. A says:

    !!!! Yay! Holy cow, that is awesome. I can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Hopefully I join you soon!

  2. Sara says:

    Wow congratulations!! How exciting!

  3. Shannon says:

    Congrats to you and M! Super-exciting! We are kinda officially trying too, so maybe I’ll be incubating a tiny new person soon enough as well. 🙂 Treat yourself to something special!

  4. angeci13 says:

    Congrats! That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

