Crapity Crap Crap Crap

At nearly 8 weeks into this venture, I’m starting to drag. I’ve skipped weeks ahead in my pregnancy books and grown tired of browsing baby names. Now there’s nothing left to do than admit: I feel like crap.

In the preconception phase I was sure I’d float through pregnancy on cloud nine, feeding my precious zygote (that’s its nickname) fresh-squeezed juice and elaborately-prepared healthy meals with a side of prenatal vitamin. Now I’m tossing back Gatorade, popsicles, and the occasional glass of cranberry juice to wash down the antibiotics I’m taking to treat my first urinary tract infection (UTI) I’ve had in pretty much forever. Oh, and you know those dreams where you’re trying to run, but you can’t, so you start attempting to propel yourself forward by waving your arms in a swimming motion through the air? That’s what first trimester fatigue feels like.

Something has to give. So, tell me—what did you do or are you doing to get through the first trimester days? Here’s what helps me so far, but please shower me with more ideas!

  • Regular exercise
  • Afternoon naps when possible
  • Frequent breaks at work
  • Lots of water
  • Ginger tea, candy, and beer (sort of like rootbeer)
  • Help from my spouse with my share of the cooking and cleaning
About The Preconceptionist

Where personal experience meets clinical and cultural preconceptions about birth and women's health.
This entry was posted in First Trimester, Pregnancy, Rants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crapity Crap Crap Crap

  1. I don’t have any other ideas. It just pretty much isn’t fun for the first trimester. Then you get to the second trimester and nearly forget about how miserable you felt and think, “Well, at least it didn’t last very long,” even though when you’re in the middle of it, you pretty much can’t think about anything besides how incredibly miserable you are. Then you have the baby and think that morning (or all-day) sickness was a piece of cake compared to taking care of a newborn.

  2. Lauren says:

    Nausea is hitting me, HARD. I have the strongest aversion to green vegetables, which I really did enjoy in my “former life.” I feel sort of guilty for eating sandwiches and pizza and pasta, which are the foods that cause the least amount of wanting-to-vomit, instead of my usual salads with broccoli and green beans, etc. But even typing those words makes my stomach turn. Who am I?? I hardly know. I have been sucking on Jolly Ranchers which seem help a lot. Yes, I am well aware that they are devoid of nutritional value, and I hadn’t so much as looked at a Jolly Rancher since about 5th grade, but I gotta do what I gotta do to make it through the day! Fruit is good – I’m trying to have as much of it as I can. Exercise outside in the fresh air helps, too. And going to bed early. And having somebody to b*tch to. 🙂

  3. Astrid says:

    No advice, but hang in there!

  4. healthybun says:

    Oh my. I’m halfway through week six and am just waiting for the nausea and fatigue to set in. I feel great right now, but as all of my formerly pregnant friends like to leer, “just wait!”

    Hang in there. Try to remind yourself of the big picture: when you are holding that little baby in your arms in April (?), you are going to be so happy you endured all of this. My mom, I recently learned, endured multiple miscarriages and even several surgeries in order to have me, and boy am I glad she persevered. You can do it! It will be so worth it.

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

