Are First Trimester Sonograms a Good Idea?

Given that I’ve refused giving in to the idea that a physician must confirm my pregnancy, I’m a bit surprised at what I’m about to say. I wish I had a sonogram at my first prenatal appointment.

Yes, I know. They aren’t always necessary in normal, healthy pregnancies. Insurance companies typically only pay for one or two in each pregnancy. But I desperately want to know that my bean has a normal heart beat and looks like a normal bean. I wish I could have seen the gestational sac, the yolk sac, and the fetal pole.

At my next prenatal on October 4, I’ll get to hear the heart beat, which will put my mind at ease. My first sonogram will be at 18 – 20 weeks—sometime in late November or early December.

Do you think a first trimester sonogram would have made a difference in my peace of mind and/or pregnancy outcome? When did you get your first sonogram?

About The Preconceptionist

Where personal experience meets clinical and cultural preconceptions about birth and women's health.
This entry was posted in First Trimester, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are First Trimester Sonograms a Good Idea?

  1. Tsahai says:

    Well, I feel as parents we may always be worried and want a little reassurance no matter how many sonograms we had. I do understand how you feel though. I am 14 wks preg and have had 2 ultrasounds – one @ 7 wks and the other @ 12. I think you will feel much better after hearing the heartbeat!! Best of luck!!

Leave a Reply

